CONFESSIONS OF A KNICKS' JUNKIE TURNED JEREMY LIN FAN

After all these years, I still read Knicks' news everyday.

There I said it. I'm outta the closet. And I'm so embarrassed. I  definitely need a support group's help. "Hi, I'm Nathan, and I'm a Knickaholic."

The roots of this addiction were planted in New Jersey, where I grew up cheering passionately for two teams: the Knicks and the NY Giants. If there were other teams in the universe, I was not aware of them.

When I was in my twenties I used to sit in the $5 nosebleed seats at the Garden, drink the piss-warm beer from vendors, and act like every other normal idiotic fan who has no real life.

When I was made Knicks beat writer for The Newark Star-Ledger in my early thirties, I quit rooting for the team cold turkey. You can't root and write about a team. Or at least I couldn't.

I have no idea how I broke my rooting addiction. Maybe it had something to do with having locker room access and traveling all over America with the team. I learned in that period that while many Knicks were smart, wonderful people, a lot of others were arrogant, abrasive jerks. It also didn't help that for six months I had to look up to talk to people who were anywhere from three inches to a foot taller than me (I'm 6'0). I swear I felt short for the whole season.

Bearing in mind that I used to watch the team from the nosebleed seats, my first day of Knicks practice was a huge shock to my nervous system. I mean, gee, I was on the same court as the players AND interviewing them! Holy cow! My virgin practice session was held in the gym at Manhattan's Pace College. I remember trying to pretend like I really belonged there, like Bob McAdoo and I had been buddies for years. Yo, Bob!

But the biggest shock came after all the interviews that day were done and the other NY writers had left. There I was, alone on the court interviewing (gulp) Knicks' coach  Willis Reed, the legendary champion and future HOF. When the interview was done, Willis said: "You want to shoot a game of H-O-R-S-E?

I swear I nearly peed my pants when he said that. I mean, I used to need binoculars to see Reed's face from the nosebleed seats. And NOW I'M SHOOTING H-O-R-S-E  WITH HIM?

(Lin's coming, don't be impatient)

Thus began nine crazy years of sitting court side at games, going on the road with the team, sitting on team buses, flying on Knicks charter airplanes, and staying at the same hotel they did. My life was deadlines, airports, buses, arenas, and first class hotels that eventually all came to look like one big dreaded Hotel Room.

Oh the stories I could tell of those days. I hung out with Hubie Brown's assistant coaches Rick Pitino, Mike Fratello, and many others. Some of the assistants--without naming names--were borderline crazy. If I told you about some of my after hour exploits on the road with assistant coaches they'd all put a contract hit out on me.

Long story short, after nine years of this I was burnt out. And while I still covered many Knicks games at the Garden for 10 more years, I branched out into covering the Yanks, Mets, Nets, NCAA tournament, World Series, NBA playoffs, and local college hoops teams like Princeton.

In 1997 I couldn't stomach sportswriting anymore, quit the paper, took up hanging in coffee bars writing movies and plays, and taking acting lessons. Nathan the Bohemian. And Nathan the Bartender, who served beer and booze from smoky pits crammed with yuppies who were raving drunks stoked on weird stuff like Jaggermeister, Buttery Nipples, and Kamikazies, .

And this is true:

I did not read a sports section, watch a single game on TV, or care about sports until 2007. Ten long years of bliss. No rooting, no agony of gut-wrenching defeats, no nothing. But that year I started watching the NY Giants. And, yup, I was rooting like a fan again. I had exorcised most of the sportswriter shtick from my brain. That being said, I still watch games in schizoid mode: cheer as a fan, analyze as a writer.

While I did root for the Giants, I still shied away from watching or reading about the Knicks. They were dead to me.

Until 2011, when I started taking a peek at a Knick game every so often. Like an alcoholic who says, "I'm just gonna drink a few and then stop." LOL.

Watching the Knicks in "moderation" radically changed when one person came into my sports world. Some kid from Harvard. Harvard? Are you kidding? Harvard guys score points on Wall Street. Become Presidents. They don't play in the NBA. 

I knew nothing about Lin until February 4, when my friend who had watched Lin play with the Warriors, said to me as Lin was called into a game against the Nets, "Watch this kid, he's good."

And oh boy was he good! And FUN to watch!

After that, I traded my old Knicks addiction for Lin Addiction. When he played for the Knicks, I found I could finally go all-in for them again.

My love affair with the Knicks, however, was brief. That summer when Knicks maniac owner James Dolan let Lin go to Houston, Nathan the Lin Nomad was born.

The Rockets were my new team. OK. Got it. Learn about players. Get outraged when McHale benched Lin for Pat who? Scream at Harden to pass the damn ball to Lin when he's standing all alone in the corner. It was two years in Harden-McHale Hell.

Then came the trade to LA. New players to learn about, right? Wrong. I took one look at the coach and the team and said, "I ain't gonna root for this group of misfits, certainly not for Kobe, who was just another Hog version of Melo and Harden.

In LA I began rooting for a one man team named Lin.

Today, me and all of you other Lin Nomads find ourselves with yet another franchise  to learn about. Sigh.

And so I find myself rooting like hell for Lin, and I, uh, hmm, well, yeah, I sorta keep up with the Knicks. 

Being a fan sucks. 

126 responses
Nice piece, Nathan. I'm still nomadding myself.
And Martin, it may continue again next year. Lin can opt out of his contract after this year, which was part of his plan: take a year in a system that fits his style and a coach who wants him to play his style. If he has great year, as we expect, he can get a new deal for his true value, not $2.4 mill. Either with Hornets or another NBA team.
I wish this piece had been longer, I love to hear your story because I can so relate to it (at least in terms of the Lin part). There isn't a day that goes by that I don't check your twitter feed (despite not being on twitter). It was the only thing that kept me sane during the BSLA year of living stupidly. Can't wait for this season, and for redemption and retribution to all the Lin nay-sayers. Keep up the great posts.
Thanks, Kurt. During pre-season and season I will be tweeting a lot before and after games. Right now things are slow. A lot of people, fan sites, tweet about the games but of course with my background, I bring an extra dimension, tweeting both as a fan and an experienced NBA analyst. Yeah, last year was a bummer. But we got through it. Lin got through it. And now he is with a coach who wanted him specifically for the things he does so well: pass, drive and be aggressive, move the ball in transition, do pick n roll etc. I think he is a lot better player than starting PG Kemba Walker, and predict by mid-season he will be starting either with Kemba, or Kemba will be traded. Lin has an opt-out clause in his contract after this season. So he can opt out and be free agent next summer and find a team that will start him at the kind of money he deserves, or stay with Hornets if Kemba traded. Exciting times ahead. Keep the faith, Kurt.
nice article, you have been one of JLIn big supporter. i've always enjoy your comments during and after the game. i started following JLin pretty much the same time you did.
Thanks, Nathan. You are speaking for my story on Lin's part. It was always comforting to read your tweets during the frustrating last season.
Ronnie, Rocky, most Lin followers who aren't Asian Americans have similar Lin stories. For AAs, Lin was on their radar at Harvard. Same story, but they have the Asian identity thing we non-Asians don't have. Just love his game, his humbleness. BTW, will be tweeting games even more now that starting times are East Coast, not LA time. I live in upstate NY.
Nathan, love your posts on Lin. I am an Asian American sports fan who started following him during his last year in Harvard. I especially get ticked off when Lin detractors tell me that the ONLY reason I follow Lin is because he's an Asian-American NBA player or athlete. Although this is one of the reasons, IT is definitely not the ONLY reason because I never followed Yao or follow a great Asian tennis player like Kei Nishikori. Like you, I haven't followed NBA for over 10 years after MJ era. I truly believe Lin can be the Conley level player in NBA if given a better support, although he may never reach the Curry level. Anyway, I will follow your blog during the upcoming season.
Webattorney, guys like us follow Lin because of several reasons. One is his story is unprecedented and so uplifting, it speaks to all of us who just want a chance in life. One part of his story that I've never seen is this: he went from the D League to end of Knicks bench, and only one year later he got a $25 million contract. One year. That's never been done. But Lin is not about money, nor am I. He's also an inspiring person in the way he lives off the court, and his humbleness should be blueprint for all pro players. I agree, he can be Connelly level, better than Dragic, or Kemba, or Pistons Jackson and more starters. No, he cannot be Curry, because he'll never shoot as well as Steph, but who can? BUT Lin is a better, more creative passer than Curry. Lin's passing ability is on the CP3 level, and probably better than Kyrie. As pick n roll PG, he is widely acknowledged to be among the top tier PGs in league. Funny thing about me as Lin fan. When he exploded off bench in NY, I was shocked mostly because he can from Harvard. In my 19 years in NBA, I saw only a handful of players from Ivy school make it in league. It never even occurred to me to think his story was remarkable because he was an Asian American. I only realized that when writers started talking about that, about the almost zero history of Asians and AA to play in NBA. Long ago, when I covered the Knicks, i learned to be color blind. Just saw players. Today, way more than when I covered, players come from all countries. I have probably 80 pct AA and some Asians among my followers. Many have felt he was not drafted because he was AA. I don't think that was reason. If a GM felt a chipmunk could be great player, they'd draft him. I think it was the Ivy thing, not playing against national powerhouses (except UConn, pumped 31 against Kemba's team). So many PGs to choose from in draft, they lean toward ones who came from major programs. That, and the fact that Lin was slight of build, not very muscular. And then, from my experience I've learned only a handful of GMs have any brains. Classic example: Portland GM, because he needed a big center to counter Kareem, chose need over player and bypassed Michael Jordan for Sam Bowie, who was hurt most of his career. Give me a follow on Twitter, and do leave your own comments on my account. Thanks again. Nathan
Damn. Lin nomad here as well.
Hey Nathan. I'm a Knicks fan too. I'm from the Philippines and my aunts and uncles are in NY. So I have Knicks and Mets gears and apparels hand me downs from them. I haven't rooted for any players other than Michael Jordan, Allan Houston and yes Jeremy Lin. When Lin was traded December, I followed him and ever since. I'm not active in twitter and been lurking in JLin sites and I always see your posts. Looking forward to the season and I'm excited that you'll be twitting a lot during the pre-season and season games. More power. EJ
I've been a Laker fan myself then became a Nomad since I saw this Harvard phenom started to lit teams after teams in NY when from nowhere this guy lit up my team for 38 points and Kobe didn't even knew him at first or just sarcastically pretending not to know him but since then I got hooked and never been put in rehab yet as a JLIN addict.Nice piece by the way as a Lin fan.Goodluck with us in Charlotte since this is going to be our new hive.
Great post. Love Lin caude he plays to make his team better.
Hi Nathan, i used to love the knicks when starks, ewing, oak were there! Heartbreak i know well as i was also a diehard cleveland browns fan during brian sipe and bernie kosar days... i am also a fellow jlin junkie! Stopped following knicks and nba for years until this kid came along... cool guy and good person imho... will continue that journey with you and fellow jlin fans... keep up the great work!
Thank you for all your comments. It's good to connect with fellow Lin fans. Hope he gets the chance in Charlotte to show NBA what he can really do when used right, as coach Clifford has promised him.
Great writing!
Great article! I go back to the Knicks with Richie Guerin and Carl Braun. 69 was the best. Seeing a true team play together was the epitome of basketball. The Ewing years were exciting but most of Knick basketball was pretty uninspiring. Then with no one left on the roster, they put in an Asian kid from Harvard?? What a great three weeks!! After Melo, it was wonderful watching this kid Lin score AND make his teammates better. And the Knicks won. When he wasn't signed by the Knicks, I said enough. 50 years is enough. I bought the NBA package and became a Lin fan. Houston had its moments. I went to Philly and saw him hit over 30. LA, well if I never see BS or Kobe again, I will be happy. Only high hopes for his next stop on his journey (and mine too)
Good stuff, Alex. When Lin became restricted FA after year with Knicks, they didnt make him an offer, told him to go out and get one and then they'd match. In other words, you over value yourself, get a realistic bid. Well Rockets GM added that poison pill 3d yr worth $14.5, Dolan threw a fit and let him walk FOR NOTHING. As for going way back, I was a senior at Rutgers when we played in the NIT against a team i'd never heard of Southern Illinois Salukis. Everybody kidded: "What's a Saluki?" Then we found out in the form of Walt Frazier, who lit up the Garden like fireworks.
Yep, I am with you. We are all addicted to Lin. Hahaha!!
Just found your blog, will follow. My run-on-sentence ramble: Also a nonAsian/AA Linaholic nomad who assesses his skill and potential similar to you, also loves the Christian angle (I'm a Christian lawyer and now US Army chaplain) along witht he underdog story and the continuing-to-have-faith-angle not only of Lin but of his fans (many who think they're smart analysts of course say Lin doesn't have the goods to be an NBA starter), never had a favorite NBA team (was an FSU fan for many years) and loved Charlie Ward as a PG for the Knicks (thought he was underrated)... I enjoy picking winners intuitively and think history will prove us right on Lin (e.g., I saw radiohead at a very small venue in Lawrence KS early on and told Thom Yorke they'd approach Beatles-like status and even they didn't believe it and they could have if not gone SO artsy, and the day I watched Dan Marino throw in his first start ever told all my Bears fans to laughter with that release I sensed he'd be the greatest passer ever). I know Gottlieb as a surname is not necessarily Jewish but may commonly be so... how does the Christian angle seem to you whether you are or not? If not religious do you like the "morality" he has that is backed up by character as seen in his treatment over past years, or does it annoy you if Jewish or nonreligious... or are you sheepish about addressing and think it should be irrelevant. Its pretty important to Jeremy's self identity and understanding of his own narrative as seen from his recent testimony given this week in Beijing. Thanks, Steve
Well, Steve, I am a non-practicing Jew who believes only in a Higher Power with no name. I talk to Higher Power every morning. I didnt talk about Lin's religion because I wasn't asked to. Just about his on court life. Of my 616 twitter follows, about 85 pct are Asian or Asian-American. And probably 45-50 pct of those are devout Christians. Jeremy Lin is a basketball player, period. And a terrific one. I don't care what religion or race he is. BUT, I do understand the effect his God has him and respect that. I love how God has made him humble, along with his great parents. Thanks for posting and reading my article. BTW, it got picked by 3 news sites in China/Tawain. This one translated it, roughly. http://www.dongtw.com/nba/nba-news/20150811/000...
Nathan, great post, just started following you and read your interview with HoopsHabit as well. Thanks for sharing the thoughts and insights about Lin's situation which rarely gets a national voice. I tend to be a conspiracy theorist in that Lin not only suffers from on-court politics and jealous but also off court. 1) Scouting System: Lin was not part of the NBA / AAU machine and any major success he has is reminder of the deficiency in the system. 2) Jobs: Lin opens potential doors for others and hence NBA jobs. 3) Media: The national media avoids talking Lin up - Lin's fans respond passionately so it's better to not acknowledge him at all, or just in passing. Example is one of the best NBA writers Zach Lowe, simply avoids Lin because of fan response. Hopefully your new colleague at HBO Bill Simmons will give a little more cred. In fact, Bill has in the past - which is why he's great. Your thoughts? Great posting!
Lin wasn't scouted heavily because he was Ivy, and it's rare for Ivy kids to make it. Plus they don't play many major powers, so their stats are regarded as suspect. Plus at Harvard he was skinny like 180, they doubted he'd hold up. I just don't think conspiracy applies to NBA front offices. A GM would draft a penguin if he thought the penguin could really ball. Just as a I wrote at Hoops Habit, a perfect storm of multiple events. As for Simmons, I only write boxing articles as freelance, am not in their office, will have no contact with them. But with his hoops knowledge, I'm sure they'll use that in some way. Hopefully he gets to talk about Lin. Thanks for reading and the compliments.
103 visitors upvoted this post.